The International LOFAR Two-metre Sky Survey (ILoTSS)

The International LOFAR Two-metre Sky Survey (ILoTSS) will extend and build on the highly successful LoTSS survey to be the first wide-area, sensitive (30 μJy beam-1), high resolution (0.3 arcsec) extragalactic radio survey. The science goals are extensive, and we highlight some here.

  • This survey will robustly characterise the whole AGN population, including the emerging low-luminosity population, and resolve all jets on kpc scales, which is essential for understanding the AGN physics, their galaxy-scale feedback and for separating the AGN and star formation contributions.
  • In the local Universe, the study of nearby galaxy halos will determine the role of cosmic ray transport in stellar and galactic feedback...
  • ... while at higher z ILoTSS will characterise the AGN and star formation activity in more than a million quasars out to z ~ 6, and map the growth of the earliest black holes (z > 6).
  • Due to its 0.3 arcsec resolution ILoTSS will be a gravitational lens finding machine, with >5000 new radio-loud lens systems expected, enabling unique tests of high-z galaxy populations and cosmology.
  • The ILoTSS source counts will be used to independently constrain the cosmological parameters, and determine the radio source count dipole at high significance, which may have dramatic implications for the cosmological principle.

We are also proposing to complete LoTSS, for legacy value and to provide the first low-frequency high-resolution study of the Milky Way, probing the detailed physical structure of the ISM in addition to discovering new pulsars. Finally, ILoTSS will open up new discovery space in cosmic magnetism and the time-domain Universe, and provide new insights on exoplanet-induced emission, their periodicity and the space weather conditions for over 100 stellar systems.

The potential and full range of science cases for international baseline resolution data is evolving in real-time as community expertise with these datasets grows, and so the legacy value of our programme is expected to extend well beyond any science case we can propose now. ILoTSS is designed to overlap with the Euclid sky area in order to maximise the multi-wavelength information at matched resolution, and will include full polarisation and time variability information across 7,600 deg2. The proposed ILoTSS survey (in addition to finishing the remaining 10% of the LoTSS survey, which is < 10% of our time request) can be conducted with 8,500 observing hours, resulting in 30 PB of archived data products.

The full ILoTSS proposal is available here. If you are interested in joining the ILoTSS team please fill in this form.

Team members

The table below lists team members and their affiliations at the time of submission of the proposal.

Martin HardcastleUniversity of Hertfordshire
Björn AdebahrAIRUB
Chris RiseleyALMA MATER STUDIORUM - Università di Bologna
Iris de RuiterAnton Pannekoek Institute / University of Amsterdam
Robert KavanaghASTRON
Bernard Duah AsabereASTRON
Timothy Wing Hei YiuASTRON
Kaustubh RajwadeASTRON
Elizabeth (Betsey) AdamsASTRON
Emanuela Orru'ASTRON
Joseph CallinghamASTRON / Leiden
Frits SweijenASTRON, Leiden Observatory
Aleksandar ShulevskiASTRON, the Netherlands Institute for Radio Astronomy
Raffaella MorgantiASTRON/Kapteyn Inst Groningen
Dominik BomansAstronomical Institute of the Ruhr University Bochum
Urszula Pajdosz-ŚmierciakAstronomical Observatory of the Jagiellonian University
Krzysztof ChyżyAstronomical Observatory of the Jagiellonian University, ul. Orla 171, 30-244 Kraków, Poland
Jinglan ZhengBielefeld University
Szymon NakonecznyCalifornia Institute of Technology
Vijay MahatmaCavendish Laboratory, University of Cambridge
Maciej BilickiCenter for Theoretical Physics PAS Warsaw
Rachel CochraneColumbia University (back to Edinburgh next year)
Roland TimmermanDurham University
James PetleyDurham University
Emmy EscottDurham University
Leah MorabitoDurham University
Gabriela Calistro RiveraEuropean Southern Observatory
Gabriella Di GennaroHamburg Observatory
Duy HoangHamburg University
Kamlesh RajpurohitHarvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics (CfA))
Caroline HenekaHeidelberg University
Miguel Pérez-TorresIAA-CSIC
Javier MoldonIAA-CSIC
Philip BestIfA, Edinburgh
Francesco De GasperinINAF
Ranieri D. BaldiINAF - IRA
Isabella PrandoniINAF - Istituto di Radioastronomia
Rosita PaladinoINAF - Istituto di Radioastronomia
Alessandro IgnestiINAF - Padova
Andrea BotteonINAF-IRA
Ettore CarrettiINAF-IRA Bologna
Valentina VaccaINAF-OAC
Marisa BrienzaINAF-OAS
Manuela MagliocchettiINAF/IAPS
Corey PirieInstitute for Astronomy, University of Edinburgh
Rumen BachevInstitute of Astronomy and NAO, BAS
Magdalena Kunert-BajraszewskaInstitute of Astronomy NCU
Pratik DabhadeInstituto de Astrofísica de Canarias
Fatemeh TabatabaeiIPM-MPIfR-MPIA
Thomas PasiniIRA-INAF
Rossella CassanoIRA-INAF, Bologna, Italy
Marek JamrozyJagiellonian University, Astronomical Observatory
Etienne BonnassieuxJMU Wuerzburg
Matthias KadlerJMU Würzburg
Hrishikesh Digambar ShetgaonkarJulius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg
Pranav KukretiKapteyn Institute and Astron
Huub RottgeringLeiden
Maria AriasLeiden Observatory
Anniek GloudemansLeiden Observatory
Jurjen de JongLeiden Observatory
Ian RobertsLeiden Observatory
Reinout van WeerenLeiden University
Laurent LamyLESIA/Obs. Paris and LAM/Aix-Marseille Univ.
Gaoxiang JinMax Planck Institute for Astrophysics
Aleksandra KrauzeNicolaus Copernicus University in Toruń
Cyril TasseObservatoire de Paris
Judith CrostonOpen University
Fangxia AnPurple Mountain Observatory, Chinese Academy of Sciences
Marijke HaverkornRadboud University
Vibor JelicRuder Boskovic Institute
Michael SteinRuhr University Bochum
Ralf-Jürgen DettmarRuhr University Bochum
Glenn WhiteRutherford Appleton Lab, UK and The Open University, UK
Xuechen ZhengShanghai Astronomical Observatory
Sarrvesh S. SridharSKAO
Wendy WilliamsSKAO
Charlotte SobeySKAO & CSIRO
Aleksandra WołowskaSpace Radio-Diagnostics Research Centre, Faculty of Geodesy, Geospatial and Civil Engineering, University of Warmia and Mazury in Olsztyn
Lingyu WangSRON Netherlands Institute for Space Research & University of Groningen
George MileySterrewacht, Leiden University
Beatriz MingoThe Open University
Jonathon PierceThe University of Hertfordshire
Alexander DrabentThüringer Landessternwarte
Eleni VardoulakiThüringer Landessternwarte Tautenburg
Aritra BasuThüringer Landessternwarte, Tautenburg
Shane O'SullivanUniversidad Complutense de Madrid
Dominik J. SchwarzUniversität Bielefeld
Antonia RowlinsonUniversity of Amsterdam & ASTRON
Sean McGeeUniversity of Birmingham
Chiara StuardiUniversity of Bologna
Annalisa BonafedeUniversity of Bologna & INAF
Virginia CucitiUniversity of Bologna, INAF-IRA
Maya HortonUniversity of Cambridge, University of Hertfordshire
Mattia VaccariUniversity of Cape Town
Lucia MarchettiUniversity of Cape Town
Kenneth DuncanUniversity of Edinburgh
Rohit KondapallyUniversity of Edinburgh
Catherine HaleUniversity of Edinburgh
Bohan YueUniversity of Edinburgh
Marcus BrüggenUniversity of Hamburg
Daniel SmithUniversity of Hertfordshire
Gulay Gurkan University of Hertfordshire
Christopher ConseliceUniversity of Manchester
Neal JacksonUniversity of Manchester
Michael GarrettUniversity of Manchester & University of Leiden
Matt JarvisUniversity of Oxford
Aayush SaxenaUniversity of Oxford
David BaconUniversity of Portsmouth
Erik OsingaUniversity of Toronto / Leiden University
Sebastian HutschenreuterUniversity of Vienna
Mateusz OlechUniversity of Warmia and Mazury in Olsztyn
Marcin HajdukUniversity of Warmia and Mazury in Olsztyn
Nika JurlinUT Austin
Arpita MisraAstronomical Observatory of the Jagiellonian University
Morteza Pashapour-AhmadabadiBielefeld University
Matthias HoeftThüringer Landessternwarte
Cathy HorellouChalmers University of Technology